Colonization of Africa

Between the 1870s and 1900, Africa faced European imperialist aggression, diplomatic pressures, military invasions, and eventual conquest and colonization. At the same time, Africansocieties put up various forms of resistance against the attempt to colonize their countries and impose foreign domination.
By 1900 a significant part of Africa had been colonized by mainly seven European powers—Britain, France, Germany, Belgium, Spain, Portugal, and Italy. After the conquest ofAfrican decentralized and centralized states, the European powers set about establishing colonial state systems